Comics, Cartooning, The Washington Post

So here it is…

The latest “Secret Project” that I’ve been teasing the past month or so is in fact my submission for the Washington Post’s contest for comic strips.

If I make it past the primary round, you’ll be able to see the strip and vote for it on the Post’s website.  If I make it (and this is a VERY BIG “if”!!!!), I will definitely be posting links, so stay tuned to the whole thing.

You know what?  Keep track of the whole thing regardless, because it’s a great contest and an amazing opportunity for whomever wins and gets the spotlight put on them as a fledgling creator.

When I first saw this contest, I just thought about talking about it and spreading the word, never thinking at all about attempting to enter myself.  But the more I thought about it, the more I felt like I should try.

I spent a nice chunk of time during my Ohio vacation this past month plotting, thumbnailing, writing, and drawing.  I actually had a deadline for a comic that I didn’t set myself as well as submission parameters for the final product.  It was weird, but also felt oddly “professional”. I liked it.

Even if I don’t win, I plan on showing the submission here or somewhere else eventually, because it sort of is funny and I’m actually proud of it.  Also, I think the name is awesome and probably the funniest/smartest thing I’ve ever thought of, if I do say so myself…anyway, stay tuned for more when I find out more.

One thought on “Comics, Cartooning, The Washington Post

  1. Kurt Zelman

    The only thought i wanted to place into this post is that cartoons have a lot of powerful roles every day. Besides the comical representation of daily life or the heroic actions an intriguing approach that a good portion of companies can not notice is the usage of cartoons to their brand image. Cartoons or Mascots if you desire to tell them fortify the attention of the logo and create a wide recognition of the brand. For me individually the number one example to this is the michelin car tire man. I quickly remember much more this mascot rather than the firm logo. In any case my bottom line is that cartoons can be adopted in a ton of ways with a compelling and usable approach.

Leave a Reply

