Lettering Comics & Then Some…

I’m trying to teach myself how to letter comics better because honestly, I hate doing it because I think I’m terrible at it. If anyone has any sort of clues/skills/free or relatively cheap learning guides maybe they could point me in the direction of, I’d be really appreciative.  I know I’m not the greatest artist when it comes to comics, but I think the one thing I’m actually ashamed of in my comics is my lettering skills.

So yeah, I”m trying to improve myself in that aspect, just by reaching out to the World Wide Web for help and also sitting down and repeatedly trying to make letters look good on paper when I make them with pens;

There’s FINALLY some new Mayhem & Cuddles up with more on the way in the next week or so, I’m slowly but surely getting back into the swing of sitting down for a few hours to write out and draw a comic, scan and touch it up, and then throw it up into the queue to post.  I know that makes me sound like I’m half-assing it, because I’m not (you can ask Tess about how I’ll straight-up zone out and not listen or pay attention to anything when I’m drawing Mayhem & Cuddles), but I realize that I can’t stress over trying to draw and write, I just have to do it.  The same goes for non-comic stuff of course, but to a lesser extent. My own creative insecurities will probably always plague my comic-making.

OK, enough random self-deprecating and angsty nonsense.  I have some more music reviews over at Fistfight At The Arthouse with even more to come, as well as comic reviews too.  There’ll be one or two Brightfuse blogs up as well, so keep an eye out for all that stuff.

Peace out!

One thought on “Lettering Comics & Then Some…

  1. I’m prefacing this with a simple disclaimer: I suck at lettering. Take anything and everything I say with a grain of salt.

    Back in first grade, I had a book on lettering. They made us write our ABCs a lot, and graded us accordingly. One thing that they stressed in this class was to make sure each capital letter stretched from the bottom line of the lettering guide all the way to the top. Lettering for me at this point was slow and methodical.

    In my everyday scrawling of lists and notes, I find I don’t pay attention to the height of each letter, or whether the bottom of the letter actually touches the bottom line.

    When I letter my comics, I go back to that first-grade mentality. I use an Ames guide to draw out straight lines in pencil. Once that’s done, I letter everything in pencil (to make sure it’s properly spaced, etc.). Then, I check to see whether my letters are all touching the top and bottom lines, and whether they’re the same size. Once I do that, I ink.

    This process takes a lot longer than just writing stuff on the page, because everything about the lettering process is much more planned and deliberate.

    In theory, it helps… it’s just you can’t tell in my case, because my handwriting is so bad.

Leave a Reply

