A Busy Summer

Some updates on what’s been going on –

OK, so if you haven’t figured it out already, I started teaching.  I am officially spending a chunk of the summer teaching my very first course ever!

It’s pretty cool honestly, I’m loving doing it.  The only downside is that it’s sort of cutting in to a lot of time that I’d otherwise dedicate to writing and making comics, which is why Mayhem & Cuddles has been a little slow lately.  Well, that, and also the fact that I’m not a very consistent cartoonist most of the time.

Also, I’m trying to keep my blogging/writing up to at least a daily level, with at least one significant post a day somewhere.  Which of course, leads me to my next point;

I’m currently writing a few times a week for Examiner.com about comics and graphic novels. It’s not like Fistfight At The Arthouse, where I tend to ramble and rave and also cover non-comic book stuff.  This is a little more “formal” and entirely focused on comic books, strips, and industry stuff in general.

But yeah, so that’s my new gig right now.  And I HATE pandering, but I have to mention this; The Examiner.com model means I get more points and a higher page rate the more views i get, so please, check in at my stuff over there a few times a week, subscribe to the RSS feed, ’cause I got bills to pay.

Also, even though I’m totally behind on doing music reviews (though I will say that I am loving the “Strange Behavior” EP from Restorations, which includes members of Jena Berlin), I’m still punching comics and nerd culture in the face at Fistfight At The Arthouse on a semi-regular basis these days, as well as giving you my insights about Web 2.0 and the freelancing life at Brightfuse, so don’t forget to head over there too!  Like I said, I’m doing a lot more writing these days, and it’s always nice to find out

And yes, I know that a lot of blog posts from me these days here tend to just be lists of links where I’m currently appearing, but besides big news coming up soon that I don’t wanna spoil right now, not much else is going on.  It’s a busy summer for me work-wise, I have Fridays off from the office but this last Friday I was still writing from home for a few places. I’m reading a lot of comics, I’m watching a lot of “Deadliest Catch”, trying to cook a little more, I was just alone for a week while Tessa was visiting her folks, we’re still putting together a wedding, and I’m trying to catch up on sleep because the heat has been making my apartment a heat trap.

That’s about it for now, so click stuff, check stuff out, and be on the lookout, because I thumbnailed/wrote a few comics last night that I’m gonna try to put together soon!

“Let’s toss a bumper down our throat,

Before we pass to Heaven,

And toast: ‘The trim-set petticoat

We leave behind in Devon.'”

One thought on “A Busy Summer

  1. Pingback: A Busy Summer « Costa K Writes Things « Social Computing Technology

Leave a Reply

