on the power and rigidity of canon

Tessa brought this very awesome article about fandom and canon in entertainment to my attention, and I just wanted to share it.

Canon is what the people running the franchise tell you it is. It’s not a democratic thing. Star Trek fans didn’t have the option of outvoting Gene Roddenbury when he wanted something stricken from the record.

Check it out.

I was listening to Mike Norton on the Around Comics podcast a year or so ago and he pretty much summed the whole thing up as “I wrote it, so it’s canon, dumbass!” (that’s gross paraphrasing, but basically it), which is pretty much how I’ve always seen it (and is sadly, a minority opinion) and how I always preach it.

Anyway, like I said, it’s an interesting read, even if you’re not too familiar with the Dr. Who franchise, which is what the piece is initially about.

Leave a Reply

