Just gotta share this…

OK so I found this via Comic Book Resources, from an artist called George Zapata, and it’s so awesome that I have to show it to others.

I’m not normally a fan of Calvin and Hobbes “fanart” or “mashups” or whatever, I’ll admit.  Watterson’s work normally holds a very sacred place in my heart, which makes me weirdly protective of it.  It’s why I didn’t like mock-strips/cut-n-paste strip/mashups like that whole “Calvin without Hobbes” thing, or the ones where people have manipulated the strips to “highlight” Calvin being somehow insane or mentally disturbed. They just reek of being antithetical to the whole spirit of Calvin and Hobbes, of needless sarcasm and mockery of the characters.

This one though struck a chord with me, a positive one.

In the past few years though, I’ve come to really love the magic and imagery of the classic Shazam/Captain Marvel character and world. I’m actually a big fan of the Trials of Shazam! miniseries.  And the more I think about it, the more I realize that there’s a lot connecting the two “universes”, one of a boy whose fantasy of justice and power is manifested as an adult superhero with incredible powers, and the other where a weird kid’s ultimate best friend is reflective of the subjective nature of looking at the world…

Sorry, getting into nerd mode.  Anyway, I hope you see this little piece of art and love it and giggle as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

