Pens, pencils, artdumps, coffee cups

I got around to actually scanning a few test pages/sketches from my books into the computer as I’ve been working on my next comic.  All of these are done with super-cheapo stuff for the most part, Pilot and Paper Mate black pens over really rough sketches either in pencil or an old super-thin Sakura art pen. The solid blacks are from a Prismacolor brush-tip, which is probably the fanciest of the lot.

The “headshots”/guy eating Chinese food were actually totally inked with the brush over pencils, just to see if I could do it.

These are a few tests of trying to learn how to get the falling snow effect I want right.  Thanks to uber-cartoonist Jen Vaughn‘s tip though, I’m getting the hang of it.  Click to embiggen;

 

Leave a Reply

