Some art & a new “Waffles”

There’s a new Waffles up, where I have a breakthrough in my lettering skills but nonetheless realize I suck at the consistency of keeping characters looking like they should;

So if you didn’t notice me bragging on Twitter, I got a Pentel Pocket Brush and have been dying to use it.  To test it out, I browsed around my bookshelves, and after seeing a big reference/history book of samurai warfare, I penciled this and went to work;

This was literally done on a piece of printing paper with a regular pencil I found in the desk, entirely inked with the Pentel (save for a few fill-ins there and there, which were done with a Prismacolor brush-tip).

I’ll have some more soon, I’m pleasantly surprised to find myself drawing more and more and more these days.  Go summer!

Leave a Reply

