dandelion-eaters & jaded youth

I’m on a roll with editorial/single-panel comics these days;

Thinking a lot about whether or not to keep posting them both here as well as at the Tumblr site I have set up. It feels a little redundant.  However, seeing as how I treat the other site as less a “webcomic home” and more of an online portfolio to store and display them, I think I might just quit kicking myself unnecessarily and just keep on doing it.

Moving on…

I’ve been on a real Berkeley Breathed kick lately.

When I was a kid, I read comics.  I read superhero stuff, sure, but the comics that, for a long time, dominated my reading habits were old inherited The Savage Sword of Conan the Barbarian comics, various The Far Side collections, and newspaper comics in the English-language newspapers my parents got (I grew up for a while overseas).

About this time my parents noticed and got me into tearaway calenders featuring comics from my favorite newspaper strips, usually the ones I loved like The Far Side or Doonesbury or Non Sequitur. In hindsight I wonder what the hell we were all thinking, because I was WAAY too young to be fully understanding everything about the jokes and stories in those comics.

Then I got a calender titled “Opus,” and it totally changed my life.

Here’s the original image;

That little updated “Meadow Morals Squad” thing just sort of took life in my sketchbook as I was looking at Breathed stuff while at my computer, and next thing you know I’m inking it over my super-sketchy pencils with a random pen off the desk.

Anyway, I’ve got more stuff coming up soon, so stay tuned you hepcats or whatever it is that the kids call each other these days.

One thought on “dandelion-eaters & jaded youth

  1. Pingback: ART SALE! | COSTA K'S MISC. THINGS

Leave a Reply

