The origins of “Overwhelmed”

I don’t know if I ever posted this before, but this is the rough sketchbook idea that eventually evolved into Overwhelmed.

Back then, it was called Apples (as in “the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree” since it’s a family-oriented strip), and had a larger cast that was aimed at expanding later on.

There was also a bit of a fantasy element to it because I’d planned on having the older family member live with the family from the beginning, be a grandfather (not a grandmother), and that he would be an ex-Indiana Jones sorta type, now retired. CLEARLY I didn’t go that way, but this, along with what I’d done when I did Waffles, shows you how much newspaper-style and pulp-style strips (alongside books) have influenced me.

Anyway…

Leave a Reply

