on Mark Waid and comics on the computer

So apparently Mark Waid, the writer of some of my favorite superhero comics, has been making waves in terms of digital comics and webcomics (two things I’d consider separate genres/sub-genres, but that’s another story) as outlets for storytelling in creator-owned circles, as compared to print books.

Now, I’m a big fan of physical comic books. I love ’em. Reading a physical thing in my hands and not depending on a relatively fragile and expensive digital device (a tablet like an iPad for example) is my cup of tea. I do read webcomics and digital-only comics a lot, but the only outlet for getting to them that I have is my laptop. And while I work a lot during the day in front of a computer and I DO believe that strips can be read on a screen, I think that books themselves read too awkwardly on a digital screen.

However, Waid’s point about how for indie creators the web and digital comics are a superior format for starting out is a really great one. I’ve wanted to make comcis for ages, but there is no way I could ever afford printing costs. Webcomics though? I’ve been able to make webcomics ever since I started. The web allows for me to get my comics out there, network extensively, and get advise and resources I’d never be able to reach of I had to wait for the money to pay for printing.

That’s not to say I never want to see my comics in print, I have POD storefronts through MagCloud and Lulu, and have pitched comics to various publishers to get into print. When a piece of art I did for the Team Cul De Sac project was approved for the book, I went over the moon with happiness. When I was doing music journalism and ended up in print finally, I flipped the shit out with giddiness. I’m not discounting print AT ALL or taking a McCloud-esque sort of stand that the future of

I guess I just realize that the Internet has allowed for me, as well as lots of other creators, to be able to get something out there to show to the world. And anything that helps getting that material out there, including technological achievements and loud advocacy from big names in print publishing, helps out a lot.

Leave a Reply

