On CUL DE SAC and Richard Thompson and endings

I love comics. I don’t write or draw that many of them anymore, but they’ll always be a medium I’ll love.

A few years ago, not enough, I stumbled across the wonder that was Richard Thompson’s CUL DE SAC, a daily newspaper strip that’s become one my personal idea models of what a medium like newspaper cartoons could do. Funny, wonderful, honest, with one-of-a-kind art.

CUL DE SAC will be ending September 23rd according to the Washington Post and Universal UClick/GoComics. Cartoonist Richard Thompson, creator of the comic, who was diagnosed with Parkinson’s in 2009, has decided that he can no longer work on the comic even with the recent addition of a fellow artist to assist on inking/general art duties.

This is just an intensely sad piece of news. CUL DE SAC is such a great strip, and Richard is seemingly nothing but the nicest person in comics ever. I was so privileged to be able to contribute to the TEAM CUL DE SAC book and auction, a piece that I’m proud to say did make it into the book itself as well as get auctioned for charity to raise money for Parkinson’s.

When I first heard about TCDS from Evan Dorkin (and then later on about Craig Fischer’s related “Favorites” zine project from Chris Schweizer) I wrote about contributing a piece on here, and continued to mention the project, which thought was an important. I started talking to Chris Sparks and then, one day, had a blog comment post, a brief mention of thanks for spreading the word about the entire thing from Richard himself.

Jesus Christ, I almost pissed my pants. His comment was kind and thoughtful and probably did more to make me feel like a “real” cartoonist/creator than anything I’d done up to that point to be honest…

Anyway, moving on. If you haven’t had a chance to catch up, now is your chance to read through the whole run of the strip at the GoComics link above, get some of the books, laugh, and enjoy Alice and Petey. I know I will be. And on a related note, fuck Parkinson’s Disease.

Leave a Reply

