Writing/Cartooning in 2014

A “year of” update post…

I taught a lot this year, and it was intensely hectic, eating up way too much of my time. Don’t get me wrong, I love teaching, but the increased workload and desire to keep pace better with my kids and grading meant that I took a lot more work home this year than last (online in the past few months have I managed to get into the swing of just increasing my office hours, getting an assistant, etc).

Writing- and comics-wise, I didn’t get ANYWHERE NEAR what I wanted done this year, but did manage a few things.

WHERE YOU BELONG, a comic I’ve been working on writing for about a year now, is very very VERY slowly being worked on after I dropped it for a few months. I’m about halfway through writing it, with about 1/4 thumbnailed out to be drawn. The release format isn’t totally clear yet, but I’m hoping to have something to show preview-wise in the next few months. I’m writing/drawing/lettering everything myself, so…it’s a work in progress.

I finally got to release THE DOOM ON THE MOORS, a comic short I’ve been working on, on and off for a few years, with Stephen Garza. We struggled and had to deal with some shit, but it got done. Thanks again to Ben Daniels for helping with the lettering. Hoping to work on another (horror) comic series with Stephen in 2015, which is in very preliminary stages right now.

I also managed to do a few little things, like put together a new book, an e-book collection of the serialized spy novella I was doing online, THE FOLLOWER. It’s free, with a very cool cover by artist Lauren Denitzio. Also, I did a short comic called THE DOOM PYRAMID and a new prose short called “Drop Off”.

Coming up next year, I’m hoping to get a ton more done on WHERE YOU BELONG, as well as return to my other serialized monthly prose series BLACK INK, the new aforementioned comic with Stephen, and maybe or or two other things. We’ll see.

Anyway, I just wrapped up on transcribing some script notes and fixing some continuity/story missteps, which is officially it comic/prose-wise from me in 2014. Merry Christmas and all that shit, guys.

Leave a Reply

