In The Cul De Sac

cds070918

I found out that Richard Thompson died yesterday, from Parkinson’s complications.

I don’t really know what to say or what to write, and I re-did this over and over a few times. Suffice to say, one email, a “thanks!” on the cover of the TCDS “Favorites” ‘zine was as close as I got. He wasn’t a friend, more a friend of a few casual acquaintances. But his work was amazing and wonderful and brilliant and so intensely inspirational. If you’ve never read any of his work, seriously, look some up and just be prepared to waste a whole day marveling at his lines, inks, color usage. I can’t really adequately describe just how amazing his work was to me or how it impacted my writing and my cartooning (when I did draw comics), but it is, and it did.

Being a part of the Team Cul De Sac book was the biggest thing publishing-wise that I’ve ever been a part of, and I’m incredibly grateful I was allowed to participate in the book, the ‘zine, and that my work was not only picked for the book part of the project, but also got auctioned off to raise money for TEAMFOX and Parkinson’s research.

I’m just bummed. We’ll miss you Richard, and we miss Alice.

Leave a Reply

